Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Antioch Writers' Workshop, Yellow Springs

Registration for the Full Week Program and A La Carte is now open online. The deadline to register is June 22, 2014. A program description and schedule are available on the Antioch website.

29th Annual Summer Workshop: July 12-18, 2014

The 2014 AWW Afternoon Seminars are filling up! But, there may still be time for you to make it into one of these excellent seminar opportunities:

Afternoon Fiction Seminar--Short Fiction Focus-Erin Flanagan
Erin Flanagan

Erin Flanagan is the author of two short story collections-The Usual Mistakes and It's Not Going to Kill You and Other Stories-both published by The University of Nebraska Press. Her stories have appeared in Prairie SchoonerColorado ReviewThe Missouri ReviewThe Connecticut Review, and elsewhere. She had held fellowships to Yaddo, The MacDowell Colony, The Sewanee Writers' Conference, The Breadloaf Writers' Conference, UCross, and The Vermont Studio Center. She is a professor of Creative Writing at Wright State University and serves on the Antioch Writers' Workshop Board of Directors.

Afternoon Poetry Seminar-Marly Youmans

Marly Youmans  photo credit: Rebecca Beatrice Miller
Marly Youmans is the author of five novels: Little Jordan (David R. Godine, Publisher, 1995);Catherwood (Farrar, Straus & Giroux, 1996); The Wolf Pit (FSG, 2001, The Michael Shaara Award); and Val/Orson (UK: P. S. Publishing, 2009); and A Death at the White Camellia Orphanage (Mercer University Press, 2012, The Ferrol Sams Award for Fiction.) In addition, she has published two Appalachian fantasies for young adults, The Curse of the Raven Mocker (FSG, 2003) and Ingledove (FSG, 2005). Her poetry collections are: Thaliad, an epic adventure in verse from Phoenicia Publishing of Montreal, 2012; The Foliate Head, from Stanza Press (UK, 2012); The Throne of Psyche (Mercer University Press, 2011); and Claire ( Louisiana State University, 2003). She also has several novels due out in the near future:Glimmerglass and Maze of Blood from Mercer. A reprint of Catherwood will appear soon as well. She is a native of the Carolinas currently living in a snowbank in Cooperstown, New York with her husband and three children. Learn more about Marly at

Getting Started with Fiction or Creative Nonfiction (No Manuscript Required) Instructor-Gayle Brandeis
Gayle Brandeis
Gayle is the author of Fruitflesh: Seeds of Inspiration for Women Who Write (HarperOne), Dictionary Poems (Pudding House Publications), the novels The Book of Dead Birds(HarperCollins), which won Barbara Kingsolver's Bellwether Prize for Fiction in Support of a Literature of Social Change,Self Storage (Ballantine) and Delta Girls (Ballantine), and her first novel for young readers, My Life with the Lincolns (Holt). She released The Book of Live Wires, the sequel to The Book of Dead Birds, as an e-book in 2011. Gayle's poetry, fiction and essays have appeared in numerous magazines and anthologies (such as Salon.comThe Nation, and The Mississippi Review) and have received several awards, including the QPB/Story Magazine Short Story Award, a Barbara Mandigo Kelley Peace Poetry Award, and a grant from the Barbara Deming Memorial Fund. In 2004, the Writer Magazine honored Gayle with a Writer Who Makes a Difference Award. Gayle holds a BA in "Poetry and Movement: Arts of Expression, Meditation and Healing" from the University of Redlands, and an MFA in Creative Writing/Fiction from Antioch University. Learn more about Gayle at

No comments:

Post a Comment

Alas, I must once again remind large numbers of Chinese salesmen and other worldwide peddlers that if they fall into the Gulf of Spam, they will be eaten by roaming Balrogs. The rest of you, lovers of grace, poetry, and horses (nod to Yeats--you do not have to be fond of horses), feel free to leave fascinating missives and curious arguments.